“Waiter waiter, there’s a dead fly in my soup…

Standard

…Yes Sir, it’s the hot water that kills them.”

Guten Abend, I hope that everybody’s having a pleasant evening! I’m sorry to disappoint anybody who’s reading this with the expectation that I’m sporting a pair of lederhosen (leather trousers) and indulging in a half-litre of Bavaria’s finest, that is simply not the case. In fact I’m not even in Germany yet!  My year abroad is so tantalisingly close now mind you that arguably I could justify heading to Gatwick this evening, but even my own grandmother (who insists on being early to almost everything it seems) would probably leave it a few more days at least.

13 days to go then and despite my seemingly casual demeanour, I’m VERY nervous. Needless to say I’ve been doing a bit of mental preparation recently, which in my humble opinion is as important as the physical packing (I don’t know what I’d do if I left my thinking-cap at home!). This includes: verbal repetition of key ‘waiter phrases’ like “Möchten Sie gerne etwas trinken?,” practising my best ‘the customer is always right’ smile, and carrying 6 imaginary plates in one arm. Having done all of this training in my back garden I really hope that the neighbours don’t get the wrong impression. Talking of being a good waiter, please send me any tips or advice if you’ve had any previous experience in this line of work!

On a more reassuring note, I’ve heard from a very reliable source (Emma Sawers) that Göβweinstein is a very picturesque place. On her preliminary trip to Kronach, which is about an hours drive from where I’ll be staying, she stopped off at Gasthof Stern for a cheeky drink and took some photos of the place. Here is an impression of Gasthof Stern courtesy of Emma.

An outside glance

So I’m almost there :). I feel a lot less apprehensive knowing that some of my friends are already abroad, and reading their blogs only helps to dispel any worries that I have. To my knowledge, Tom Morgan is adjusting well to life in Munich, even to the extent that he will be appearing as the guest speaker at Oktoberfest 2011 (I need verification on that). Jack Levent seems to be tackling well the “ugly head” of Russian bureaucracy, Chris Cooper is enjoying his stay in Vienna so much that he’s already half way through officially changing his citizenship to Austrian, whilst Rebekah Ahmed has discovered a Primark store in Frankfurt. All of this fills me with much hope! Best of luck meanwhile to Grace Scott who is moving into her new university house, I sincerely hope that your 1973 gas cooker lasts the year :).

Bis bald

About kitsproson

Hello there! For those of you who know me, I'm Kit, for those of you who don't know me, I'm Kit. I'm currently studying at the University of Exeter, reading German and History, and my mandatory year abroad is imminent! Hence I've established this blog so that primarily I can inform you and share this experience with you, hopefully in an entertaining manner (that's if you're one of the many who appreciate my sense of humour). If you'd like to contact me, or find out more about my year abroad experience, then Facebook is one of your many bets. Don't hold back, I'd love to experience this year with as many of you as possible!

2 responses »

  1. 1972 Gas cooker haha! Your new German home looks beautiful, I’m so jealous, no need to be nervous – you’ll have the time of your life out there! (Plus – the highlights will blatantly be my visits to see you 🙂 Lots of love xxxxx
    Ps – Great second post, enjoying them lots

Leave a Reply

