“Waiter waiter there’s a twig in my soup…

Standard

…Hold on Sir, I’ll get the branch manager.”

Expect a lot more where that came from! Indeed, if you hadn’t have already guessed, I’m going to be spending an awful lot of time in and around the kitchen and dining area of one of Bavaria’s most reputable hotels, Hotel Gasthof Stern. To be more precise, as of September 21st I will be working as one of the hotel’s waiters. After a last minute change of heart, I altered my original plans from studying at Würzburg University to working full time 45 minutes up the road in Gößweinstein, a municipality in the district of Forchheim. Gößweinstein (according to Google images at least) is a beautifully rustic, rural area, with reasonable access to larger cities such as Bamberg and Nürnberg. Located in a region known as ‘Franconian Switzerland’ due to its similar landscape, according to Wikipedia it is the region with the highest density of private breweries in the world (Matthew Williams take note).

Just for the record I’ve never written a blog before! After seeing all the blogs that my friends had started writing however, I couldn’t shirk from the challenge of writing one myself. Obviously my overriding objective is to record and convey what’s going on during my year out in Germany, but what I’m also really striving to do is to let you guys join me on my journey (the more the merrier!), and to do this in a regular, visual, and ultimately entertaining way! I’ll try my best to blog as often as I can when I’m out there, post funny photos and recount memorable stories, all you guys have to do is read on :). If you’ve ever got any questions or particular requests, then feel free to contact me on here or over Facebook.

Like most other students from Exeter’s German Class of 2013, I am a slightly disorganised 20 year-old who can’t quite believe that it’s time for my year abroad already! It definitely felt like yesterday that it was fresher’s week, oh Exeter how I’m going to miss you in all your rural glory! The questions keep floating around my mind: will the accents in Bavaria be as hilarious as those in the West country? Will I find the equivalent of Cheesy Tuesday at Arena nightclub? Will there be hills as relentlessly and unnecessarily steep as ‘cardiac’ hill on Streatham campus? These questions have kept me up at night, alas I fear I will only discover the answers once I’ve passed through customs.

Special thanks go out to my uncle Geoff, firstly for being an absolute legend generally, but more importantly for setting me up with the hotel. Thanks also are due to my mum for (constantly) reminding me that booking flights might be helpful as well as encouraging me to pack. Also, a hearty thanks goes out to Grace Scott for convincing me that there may well be people back at home who will genuinely miss me once I’ve gone!

If you’re still not convinced that following my blog will be worth your while, then here’s a short break-down of the kind of person I am and what you’ll be dealing with: I am a massive sports fan, mainly football and cricket, in particular BIRMINGHAM CITY FC. I’m out going, I love the pub, friends, different cultures, history, travel, God and lots more. Therefore I can pretty much guarantee that I’ll relate a lot of things in this blog to areas as such, so if that floats your boat then you’re on for a winner.

My flight is booked for the 21st of September, but I reckon I’ll write another entry before then!

Bis bald and take it easy!

Kit

About kitsproson

Hello there! For those of you who know me, I'm Kit, for those of you who don't know me, I'm Kit. I'm currently studying at the University of Exeter, reading German and History, and my mandatory year abroad is imminent! Hence I've established this blog so that primarily I can inform you and share this experience with you, hopefully in an entertaining manner (that's if you're one of the many who appreciate my sense of humour). If you'd like to contact me, or find out more about my year abroad experience, then Facebook is one of your many bets. Don't hold back, I'd love to experience this year with as many of you as possible!

One response »

  1. Great first blog Kit. You have mentioned most of your family except your sister and and your Dad. Did they help in any way or were they just by-standers?

Leave a Reply

